In 1937, in reponse to the need to rescue the remnants of Nazi occupied Europe, Mobile instituted it’s annual United Jewish Appeal Campaign.  The Mobile Jewish Welfare Fund, Inc., was incorporated as an official organization on March 22, 1966.  In later years, the name changed to The Mobile Area Jewish Federation, Inc. (MAJF).  We are a network community affiliated with the Jewish Federations of North America and bridge both of Mobile’s Jewish congregations.  The MAJF is a non-profit charitable organization which utilizes tax-deductible contributions to support vulnerable Jewish communities in Israel and the Former Soviet Union, some of which literally depend on these funds for subsistence.  MAJF also supports Hillels at University of Alabama and Auburn University, and the Jewish Childrens’ Regional Service (Jewish camp scholarships to deserving children). It supports Gan Shalom Preschool, The Mobile Jewish Film Festival, Mobile Christian-Jewish Dialogue, Jewish Family Services of Mobile, Holocaust teacher education programs in public and private schools sponsored by the Gulf Coast Center for Holocaust Education, the annual Israel Independence Day celebration, the Israel display at the Mobile International Festival, and the Israeli Scout Caravan performances. We bring a young Israeli to live in Mobile every year to educate our youth, adults and the community about Israel.

The MAJF is an important and worthy organization. Our board consists of community leaders and represents a cross section of the Mobile area Jewish community. We are proud of the work we do, and we look forward to continued success.  We thank you for your support of MAJF.



Jason Solomon, President
Heidi Kinsella, Vice President
Nathan Handmacher, Treasurer
Debbie Clolinger, Secretary
John Webster, Past President
Larry Voit, Past President


Jeff Redisch
Eileen Susman
Michael Cohen
Neil Sass
Carol Eberlein
Rickie Voit
Barry Silverman
Ben Meisler

Directors Ex-Officio

Michael Cohen, President, Ahavas Chesed Congregation
Alan Goldberg, President, Springhill Avenue Temple
Priscilla Gold-Darby, President, Jewish Family Services of Mobile
Rabbi Donald Kunstadt, Springhill Avenue Temple
Rabbi Steven Silberman, Ahavas Chesed Congregation

Directors Emeritus

Mark Berkin
Lowell Friedman
Iris F. Klein
Herbert Meisler
Max Mutchnick
Irving Silver
Doris Claire Stein
Melvin Stein


Rita Whitlock

Rita Whitlock
(H) 665-1225
(O) 343-7197